New Year, New Me. Yuck.

If it surprises any of you, I’m not big into New Year’s resolutions. However, I do like to challenge myself to try new things for short periods of time. Okay, that’s basically a resolution, but if I don’t call it that, it doesn’t matter so much if I break it, right? That’s what I tell myself. Go ahead and judge me, I judge myself for it.

Anyway,

For the month of January, I have decided to not drink. And by not drink, I mean no alcohol while drinking all the water. I am so horrible at drinking water. It doesn’t matter what I do. Trust me when I say all the tips and tricks to drinking water don’t work. So, I am doing the tough love approach. I don’t allow myself to eat in the morning till I have one massive jar of water in my system. And then I pee all day. It’s go great, I love this so much. Side note: last night aka January 3rd, I had a dream that I was having a drink. It’s going to be a long month…

Back on track:

So, no one likes the saying “new year, new me.” It actually makes me gag (so it’s a good thing I named this blog post after that – I’m actually rolling my eyes at myself). However, I am not against you in the intention. If you really want to change to be better physically, mentally, spiritually, whateverly – that’s awesome! You just don’t have to use that phrase. Also, if you use that phrase, there’s a 100% chance that it will be a new year and the same you.

I do want to be better this year. Don’t get me wrong, 2018 was actually a really great year for me. There was so much GOOD in 2018. But for 2019, I want to make myself better. And what do I want better? I’m keeping it to two things: business & body.

Let’s break those down now.

Business? Yes, you should know I have jumped into being an entrepreneur. I get (and got) a lot of support when I decided to do this. However, I am still hearing the comments “when are you going to go back to getting a real job?” Newsflash: don’t say that to people, no mater what job they have. Nothing takes the wind out of our sails like a comment like that. But I know I need to work harder, so 2019 – I’m digging my heels in and going to make this business great! And for those still wondering, I am doing social media marketing in Southwest Michigan to help small businesses grow. More info coming very soon – I’ve been saying that awhile. But I just told you all that I am going to be better in 2019, so this time believe me!

And although the 15 subscribers I have to this blog does not pay the bills, I am going to focus on writing more posts for your reading pleasure.

And now the final focus: body. This is a tough one. Let me be clear: I really do not have body image issues. I am a confident person. However, I am the heaviest I have ever been, and I don’t like it. Granted, I am also close to the strongest I’ve been. And you know the Spiderman quote: “with great power comes great responsibility”? Well for me, it’s “with much fat comes much strength.” I love being strong, and my priority is to keep that strength but also lose 15-20 pounds by May 20th. It shouldn’t be (too) hard, especially since I have all these great monthly goals set for myself…

January: no drinking
February: eat some vegetables
March: who knows what’s going to happen?
April: crap, it’s my birthday month
May: where has time gone
May 20th: Only 30 pounds to go…

 

If you feel like following along with more of these business & body shenanigans, subscribe to my blog and follow me on Instagram @lizzzzzzz11 (that’s seven z’s) or just click the pictures on my blog. 🙂

Leave a comment